Pierre Charpin

A designer and visual artist born in 1962, Pierre Charpin graduated from the École des Beaux-Arts de Bourges in 1984. Since the beginning of the 1990’s, he has been focusing on objects and furniture. Pierre Charpin runs research projects—such as those with CIRVA (1998/2001) or CRAFT (2003/2005)—as well asproduction design collaboration projects with internationally known companies such as Alessi, Arita 16/16, CeramichePiemme, Design Gallery Milano, Hay, Hermès, Japan Creative, Ligne Roset, the Manufacture Nationale de Sèvres, Post Design, Taiyou&co, The Wrong Shop, Tectona, and Venini. Charpin’s exclusive collaboration with Galerie kreo started in 2005 with the creation of original pieces in limited edition. Several solo exhibitions have beendedicated to his collections at the gallery in Paris and London.

Charpin has been granted many awards for his work. In 2004, Charpin designed a water carafe in cast glass for a competition held by the Société Eaux de Paris: he was named laureate of the competition and 10,000 copies of the glass carafe were made. In 2005, his Venini-produced “Triplo” vase was part of the “Compasso d’Oro” award’s official selection. In 2017, he was named “Creator of the Year” at the Maison& Objet fair in Paris.
In 2012, Charpin was selected by the Institut Français du Japon to be a resident artist within the framework of the Villa Kujoyama programme in Kyoto.

Pierre Charpin is also a scenographer. In 2010, the Musée des Arts Décoratifs entrusted him with the scenography of the “mobiboom” exhibition. The same year, the Milan Triennale entrusted him with that of the third version of the Design Museum, “Quali cose siamo”. In 2007, he designed the scenography of the “Oh Couleurs!” exhibition at the Musée des Arts décoratifs et du Design de Bordeaux.
A number of monographic exhibitions have been dedicated to Charpin:”Pierre Charpin, 20 années de travail” at Grand-Hornu Image (Belgium), “Villégiature” at Villa Noailles (within the framework of the Design Parade Festival), “La part du dessin” at Ecal (Switzerland), “Atmosfera” at Sfera Exhibitions Kyoto (Japan), and “From the studio” at Designart Tokyo (Japan).
The work of Charpin is part of numerous cultural institutions and museums, such as the Fonds National d’Art Contemporain, the Centre Pompidou and the Musée des Arts Décoratifs.  In 2014, the publisher JRP Ringier released his first monograph: Pierre Charpin.
In parallel to his work as a designer, Charpin taught design at the École supérieure d’Art et de Design de Reims from 1998 to 2008 and at the École Cantonale d’Art de Lausanne (ECAL-Switzerland) from 2006 to 2015.
After living in Milan at various intervals during the 1990s, Charpin works in Ivry-sur-Seine and lives in Paris.

For his first collaboration with Galerie MiniMasterpiece in the fall of 2018, Pierre Charpin has conceived  a series of 3 jewels, “Gioeilli”, in sterling silver (necklace, ring and earrings). These first jewels have been edited exclusively for the Louis Vuitton Foundation Library.

 

Actualité du designer

 

Necklace, 2018
Sterling silver
Edition of 75 + 5 AP
Édition Galerie MiniMasterpiece
exclusively for the Louis Vuitton Foundation Library

Earrings, 2018
Sterling silver
Edition of 100 + 5 AP
Édition Galerie MiniMasterpiece
exclusively for the Louis Vuitton Foundation Library

Pierre Charpin

Designer et plasticien né en 1962, Pierre Charpin obtient son diplôme de l’École des Beaux-Arts de Bourges en 1984. Depuis le début des années 1990, il se consacre à la conception d’objets et de meubles. Dès lors, il mène aussi bien des projets de recherches, comme avec le CIRVA (1998/2001) où le CRAFT (2003/2005), que des projets d’éditions pour des entreprises de renommées internationales comme Alessi, Arita 16/16, Ceramiche Piemme,  Design Gallery Milano, Hay, Hermès, Japan Creative, Ligne Roset / Cinna, la Manufacture Nationale de Sèvres, Post Design, Tayou& co, The Wrong Shop, Tectona, Venini. La collaboration exclusive du designer avec la Galerie kreo débute en 2005, avec la création de pièces inédites en édition limitée. Plusieurs collections font l’objet d’expositions personnelles au sein de la galerie parisienne et londonienne.

Pierre Charpin a reçu de nombreux prix pour son travail ; en 2004, il est le lauréat du concours lancé par la Société Eaux de Paris pour la conception d’une carafe d’eau en verre moulé, elle sera produite à 10 000 exemplaires. En 2005 son vase « Triplo » produit par Venini fait partie de la sélection officielle du prix « Compasso d’Oro ». En 2017,il est élu « Créateur de l’année » du salon Maison & Objet à Paris. En 2012, Pierre Charpin est sélectionné par l’Institut Français du Japon pour effectuer une résidence dans le cadre du programme de la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto.

Pierre Charpin est également scénographe. En 2010 le musée des Arts Décoratifs lui confie la scénographie de L’exposition « mobiboom », et la Triennale de Milan celle de la troisième version du Design Museum « Quali cose siamo». En 2017 il réalise la scénographie de l’exposition Oh Couleurs! au Musée des arts décoratifs et du design de Bordeaux.
Plusieurs expositions monographiques lui sont consacrées : « Pierre Charpin, 20 années de travail » au Grand-Hornu Image (Belgique), « Villégiature » à la Villa Noailles dans le cadre du Design Parade Festival, « La part du dessin » à L’Ecal (Suisse), « Atmosphera » à SferaExhibitions Kyoto (Japon), « From the studio », Designart Tokyo (Japon).
L’oeuvre de Pierre Charpin est présente dans de nombreuses institutions culturelles et Musés: le Fonds National d’Art Contemporain, le Centre Pompidou, le musée des Arts décoratifs. En 2014 l’éditeur JRP Ringier publie sa première monographie : Pierre Charpin.

En parallèle de son activité de designer, Pierre Charpin enseigne le design à l’Ecole supérieur d’Art et de Design de Reims de 1998 à 2008 et à l’École Cantonale d’Art de Lausanne (ECAL) de 2006 à 2015. Après avoir effectué plusieurs séjours à Milan (Italie) durant les années 1990, il travaille à Ivry-sur-Seine et vit a Paris.

Pour sa première collaboration avec la Galerie MiniMasterpiece à l’automne 2018, s’inspirant de formes et de principes de construction – et d’articulation – qui lui sont chers, Pierre Charpin a dessiné  un ensemble de 3 bijoux, « Gioeilli », en argent massif (collier, bague et boucles d’oreilles). Ces premiers bijoux font l’objet d’une commande en exclusivité pour la Librairie de la Fondation Louis Vuitton.

 

Actualité du designer

 

Collier, 2018
Argent 925
Édition de 75 exemplaires et 5 EA
Édition Galerie MiniMasterpiece
en exclusivité pour la Librairie de la Fondation Louis Vuitton

Boucles d’oreilles, 2018
Argent 925
Édition de 100 exemplaires et 5 EA
Édition Galerie MiniMasterpiece
en exclusivité pour la Librairie de la Fondation Louis Vuitton